CAN'T CONNECT?

Research

Databases by Subject : Political Science

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files (Gale : Archives Unbound)

    The U.S. State Department Central Classified Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments in the twentieth century.

  • Annual Reviews

    Provides the full-text of authoritative literature reviews covering a variety of social science and science disciplines. It includes both broad and deep coverage of the life, health, and medical sciences. Can be searched by individual title, subject series, or across the entire collection.

  • Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online, Series 1 (Gale)

    Cengage Learning’s new series The Middle East Online delivers a major overview of the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century, based on primary source documents from The National Archives, London.

    Series One – Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970 – offers the widest range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Here major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states.

  • CQ Researcher Online (CQ Press)

    The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Declassified Documents Reference System (Gale)

    Since 1982, Primary Source Media, a division of Gale, has published the Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS). This unique reference product involves indexing, abstracting, and capturing a large selection of U.S. government documents obtained from presidential libraries. These libraries receive declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others. As researchers visit these presidential libraries and request documents, the libraries photocopy and provide them to Gale. The result is a collection of more than 75,000 documents, consisting of more than 465,000 pages, that has literally been built by researchers themselves for nearly two decades.

  • Economist Historical Archive (Gale)

    The Economist Historical Archive (EHA) , beginning in 1843, is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables. Altogether this is an unrivaled multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries.

  • Global Issues In Context (Gale)

    Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database. Requires Windows Media Player (version 9.0 and higher) and QuickTime (version 7.0 and higher).

  • Homeland Security Digital Library

    The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy. HSDL content includes state-of-the-art multi-media offerings and other valuable assets identified by CHDS master's degree participants and instructors.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research

    The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), established in 1962, is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use. To ensure that data resources are available to future generations of scholars, ICPSR preserves data, migrating them to new storage media as changes in technology warrant.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • iPOLL Databank (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research)

    A comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in polls in the US since 1935.

    For on demand access to the full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses on archived surveys, see the RoperExpress database.

  • JSTOR

    JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Making of the Modern World (Gale)

    The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II) provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.

  • Oxford Handbooks Online

    Handbooks from the prestigious Oxford Handbooks series are now available online as a collection in four subject modules – Business & Management, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline and unpacks it, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • PAIS (ProQuest)

    Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations 

  • Political Science Research Guide

  • Proquest Congressional (Index 1789-present)

    Congress is the single most important information-producing institution in the United States. Behind every major bill debated, behind every issue discussed lie months of intensive investigation and analysis. The "working papers" that result from these efforts often represent the best information available anywhere on a given subject. That's because Congress has some of the nation's top experts on its staff, and the authority to call witnesses from throughout the world to testify on virtually any issue of concern.  This resource includes:

    • Committee Prints & Miscellaneous Publications (Full Text) (1830-present)
    • Serial Set (Full Text) (1789-present)
    • House & Senate Reports (1817-present)
    • House & Senate Documents (1817-present)
    • Hearings (Full Text) (1824-present)
    • Prints (Full Text) (1824-present)
    • Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) (Full Text) (1916-present)

  • RoperExpress (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research)

    The library’s membership with the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research includes on demand access to the full datasets required to conduct bivariate and multivariate analyses on archived surveys using RoperExpress.

    For the comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in polls in the US since 1935, see the iPOLL database.

  • Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974 (Alexander Street Press)

    The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. With 150,000 pages of material at completion, this searchable collection is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history, culture, and politics. The database currently has over 38,000 pages.

  • U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 (Gale)

    Containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, this product provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system