Databases by Subject : Languages & Literature
Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Connection Trouble?
-
-
A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700-1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift. In addition to a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, the collection also contains two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela, and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.
-
This unparalleled collection includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
-
Need help using Academic Search Premier? Try a tutorial: This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis.
-
The Database of African-American Poetry, 1760-1900, includes the poems of such well-known figures as Paul Laurence Dunbar and Phillis Wheatley and the verse of many lesser-known poets whose works may only be found in anthologies or private libraries. Most of the poets in the database were not acknowledged during their lifetimes, but only granted recognition posthumously.
Covering a wide range of topics from slavery and abolition to love and death, this collection provides a unique portrait of early America through the reflections of African-American poets during the 18th and 19th centuries. It contains a rich variety of poetic styles and types including elegies, odes, ditties, hymns, and sonnets.
The bibliographic source for the Database of African-American Poetry is the invaluable Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975, by W. P. French et al. -
For over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series has published the key texts of modern African literature. It has a unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing.
Release Three of this electronic edition includes 147 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih. -
The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.
-
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
-
The American Poetry Full-Text Database features the works of more than 200 American poets, along with six landmark anthologies of American poetry. The database gathers the works of the most influential American poets, from the Colonial period to the early twentieth century.
-
L'Année philologique contains 375,000 bibliographic records for the years 1969 to 2001, with 12,500 new records added each year. Its international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Publication information for articles is accompanied by a brief abstract and all the records are classified in a two-parts system: Ancient authors and texts, Subjects and disciplines.
-
The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
-
Asian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information, so providing a comprehensive overview of this growing field. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and it is planned to include contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.
-
Including over 11,000 quotations, the first new edition of John Bartlett's corpus to be published after his death in 1905 keeps most of his original work intact.
-
Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
-
Black Drama contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. James Vernon Hatch, the playwright, historian, and curator of the landmark Hatch-Billops Collection of black drama, is the project's editorial advisor. More than a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
-
Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of extraordinary writings. The database currently features over 14,000 pages of poetry and prose.
-
Book Review Digest provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of current adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Over 7,000 English-language books are covered by the database each year. Concise, critical evaluations are chosen from 109 leading American, British and Canadian periodicals in the humanities, social and general sciences, as well as library review media. Covering a wide range of review media and offering an enormous variety of reviews -- all carefully excerpted to convey the diversity of critical opinion on a title -- Book Review Digest is the most convenient way for patrons to obtain information on prominent new books.
-
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
-
Caribbean Literature is a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected by our editors are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of classic, rare, and contemporary literature.
-
-
Early American Fiction 1789-1875 offers the full text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.
-
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
-
A collection of more than 200 works from the period 1500-1700, exploring the rich diversity of prose fiction in English in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form.
Early English Prose Fiction offers the full text of works by key writers such as John Bunyan, Sir Philip Sidney, Thomas Nashe and Aphra Behn. -
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare contains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, twenty-eight separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works. In addition it contains more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, including the whole of Bell's Acting Edition of Shakespeare's Plays (1774).
-
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm.
-
A unique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.
-
English Poetry contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets are drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
-
-
-
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
-
Humanities Abstracts Full Text contains abstracting and indexing coverage for all 500 periodicals included in Humanities Index as well as the full text of over 160 periodicals, offering instant access to information from publications such as: American Journalism Review; American Poetry Review; Art Journal; Asian Folklore Studies; Canadian Journal of History; Central European History; Contemporary Review; Dance Magazine; Film Criticism; Journal of Popular Culture; Opera News; Perspectives of New Music; Scandinavian Studies; World Literature Today. Subjects: Archeology; Art; Communications; Drama; Film; Folklore; History; Humanities; Language; Literature; Music; Philosophy; Photography; Religion.
-
Humanities International Index™ is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. It provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles and contains more than 1.6 million records. Formerly the American Humanities Index, this database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works. Humanities International Index provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
-
Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool provides indexing, images, and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users.
-
Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool provides indexing, images, and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users.
-
The International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA) includes abstracts and indexes on all aspects of European and American art and architecture. European art is covered from late Antiquity (4th c.) to the present. American art is covered from the European discoveries (16th c.) to the present. Art reflecting the Western tradition in other parts of the world is also included. All types of publication are covered: books, periodical articles, reviews, conference proceedings, Festschriften, collected essays, exhibition catalogues, museum publications, and doctoral dissertations.
-
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/
-
Latino Literature is the most comprehensive collection of Latino Literature yet created. When complete it will include 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays, so representing the Chicano culture and all the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States.
-
The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language.
-
Gale™ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It's all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today's researchers demand.
-
Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors.In-depth coverage of 2000 of the most studied authors.
-
LitFinder is international in scope, covers all time periods, and contains a wealth of primary literature content, including more than 126,500 full-text poems, 850,000 poem citations and excerpts, 5,000 full-text short stories, 2,800 full-text essays, 1,800 full-text speeches, and 1,000 full-text plays. LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary. A subject navigator provides over 10,000 subject headings, and basic and advanced search modes allow users to search by keyword, author, subject, work title, work date, nationality, gender, timeline, and more.
-
Compiled by Salem Press, this database is the definitive, online source for editorially reviewed critical analyses. This database also includes brief plot summaries of the most studied works in the history of literature. MagillOnLiterature contains all of Masterplots and Masterplots II, Cyclopedia of World Authors, Cyclopedia of Literary Characters, Magill's Literary Annual, Magill's Guide to Science Fiction and Fantasy as well as World Philosophers and Their Works.
-
Provides citations for articles on language, linguistics, literature, and folklore.
-
When complete North American Women's Drama will bring together more than 1,500 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. The collection begins with the works of Mercy Otis Warren and Susanna Haswell Rowson in colonial times and will span the 19th and 20th centuries to the present. It is planned to include contemporary playwrights, such as Tina Howe, Beth Henley, Marsha Norman, Maria Irene Fornes, Megan Terry, and Paula Vogel.
-
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
-
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
Project MUSE is managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, in collaboration with the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the Web. -
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (SWRP) contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.
-
Access is available only within the library on library owned Windows computers.
-
The goal of the Victorian Women Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century.
-
This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included (1,763 unedited, 1,124 fully edited and encoded) by 1,456 authors. See this page for more information. Collection last updated on September 3, 2005.
