CAN'T CONNECT?

Research

Databases by Subject : Languages & Literature

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • 18th Century Collections Online (Gale)

    A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm.

  • 18th Century Fiction (Chadwyck-Healey)

    A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700-1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift. In addition to a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, the collection also contains two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela, and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.

  • 19th-Century Literature Criticism (Gale)

    Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online

  • 20th Century American Poetry (Chadwyck-Healey)

    This unparalleled collection includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • 20th-Century Literary Criticism (Gale)

    Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

    This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis.

    This database is partially paid for by INSPIRE.

  • African Writers Series (Chadwyck-Healey)

    For over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series has published the key texts of modern African literature. It has a unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing.

    Release Three of this electronic edition includes 147 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih.

  • African-American Poetry (Chadwyck-Healey)

    The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.

  • Alexander Street Drama (Alexander Street Press)

    Alexander Street Drama is a package that includes North American Theatre Online along with all the content in the following full-text play collections. Everything is cross-searchable through the unified North American Theatre Online interface, with the results seamlessly integrated into one search result.

    • Black Drama
    • Twentieth Century North American Drama
    • Asian American Drama
    • North American Women's Drama
    • Latino Drama
    • North American Indian Drama

     

  • Alexander Street Literature (Alexander Street Press)

    Alexander Street Literature is a comprehensive, cross-searchable package of collections covering literatures of place, race, and gender. Today, Alexander Street Literature features 14 collections and offers over 250,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, and novels, along with more than 5,000 full-text plays and film scripts. With new content being added on a regular basis, the current package will grow to over 600,000 pages of poetry and prose plus more than 6,000 dramatic works. Alexander Street Literature contains the following literature collections: Black Short Fiction and Folklore, Black Women Writers, Caribbean Literature, Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, Latin American Women Writers, Latino Literature, Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, South and Southeast Asian Literature.

  • American Poetry (Chadwyck-Healey)

    Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • American Poetry Database

    The American Poetry Full-Text Database features the works of more than 200 American poets, along with six landmark anthologies of American poetry. The database gathers the works of the most influential American poets, from the Colonial period to the early twentieth century.

  • Annee Philologique

    L'Année philologique contains 375,000 bibliographic records for the years 1969 to 2001, with 12,500 new records added each year. Its international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Publication information for articles is accompanied by a brief abstract and all the records are classified in a two-parts system: Ancient authors and texts, Subjects and disciplines.

  • Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (Chadwyck-Healey)

    The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.

  • Arabic Research Guide

  • Asian American Drama (Alexander Street Press)

    Asian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information, so providing a comprehensive overview of this growing field. The collection begins with the works of Sadakichi Hartmann in the late nineteenth century and it is planned to include contemporary playwrights, such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Elizabeth Wong, and Jeannie Barroga.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Bartlett's Quotations (Bartleby)

    Including over 11,000 quotations, the first new edition of John Bartlett's corpus to be published after his death in 1905 keeps most of his original work intact.

  • Black Drama (2nd edition) (Alexander Street Press)

    Black Drama contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. James Vernon Hatch, the playwright, historian, and curator of the landmark Hatch-Billops Collection of black drama, is the project's editorial advisor. More than a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Black Short Fiction and Folklore (Alexander Street Press)

    Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora is the most comprehensive collection yet created of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora. When complete, it will offer more than 8,000 short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life. In addition to these works, the database includes complete runs of selected literary magazines, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon. Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora currently features over 6,400 short stories and more than 47,000 pages.

  • Black Women Writers (Alexander Street Press)

    Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of extraordinary writings. The database currently features over 14,000 pages of poetry and prose.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO)

    Book Review Digest provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of current adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Over 7,000 English-language books are covered by the database each year. Concise, critical evaluations are chosen from 109 leading American, British and Canadian periodicals in the humanities, social and general sciences, as well as library review media. Covering a wide range of review media and offering an enormous variety of reviews -- all carefully excerpted to convey the diversity of critical opinion on a title -- Book Review Digest is the most convenient way for patrons to obtain information on prominent new books.

    This database covers the period 1983-present.

  • Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 (EBSCO)

    Book Review Digest Retrospective provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Citations with excerpts of reviews of juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language are included. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, and most have at least two.

    Reviews of the following types of books are excluded: government publications, textbooks, and technical books in the sciences and law. However, books on science for the general reader are included. The reviews originate in a group of selected periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, and general science published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain.

    This database covers the period 1905-1982.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Book Review Index Online (Gale)

    A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.

  • Caribbean Literature (Alexander Street Press)

    Caribbean Literature is a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected by our editors are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of classic, rare, and contemporary literature.

  • Children's Literature Review (Gale)

    Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online

  • Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (Gale)

    Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online

  • Collected Works of Friedrich Nietzsche

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Contemporary Authors (Gale)

    Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on all of the more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors whose entries appear in Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors New Revision Series. Updated monthly, Contemporary Authors allows users to search for an author by name, title of work, nationality, date and place of birth and death, subject/genre, personal and career information, awards and honors, and more.

  • Contemporary Literary Criticism (Gale)

    Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online

  • Database of African-American Poetry, 1760-190

    The Database of African-American Poetry, 1760-1900, includes the poems of such well-known figures as Paul Laurence Dunbar and Phillis Wheatley and the verse of many lesser-known poets whose works may only be found in anthologies or private libraries. Most of the poets in the database were not acknowledged during their lifetimes, but only granted recognition posthumously.
    Covering a wide range of topics from slavery and abolition to love and death, this collection provides a unique portrait of early America through the reflections of African-American poets during the 18th and 19th centuries. It contains a rich variety of poetic styles and types including elegies, odes, ditties, hymns, and sonnets.

    The bibliographic source for the Database of African-American Poetry is the invaluable Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975, by W. P. French et al.

  • Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online (Gale)

    Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its 30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.

  • Drama Criticism (Gale)

    Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online

  • Early American Fiction 1789-1875 (Chadwyck-Healey)

    Early American Fiction 1789-1875 offers the full text of more than 700 first editions of American novels and short stories by such authors as Louisa May Alcott, Herman Melville, Harriet Beecher Stowe and Mark Twain, as well as a host of minor writers of the period.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Early English Books Online (Chadwyck-Healey)

    Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Early English Prose Fiction (Chadwyck-Healey)

    A collection of more than 200 works from the period 1500-1700, exploring the rich diversity of prose fiction in English in the period preceding the emergence of the realist novel as its dominant form.

    Early English Prose Fiction offers the full text of works by key writers such as John Bunyan, Sir Philip Sidney, Thomas Nashe and Aphra Behn.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare (1591-1911)(Chadwyck-Healey)

    Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare contains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, twenty-eight separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works. In addition it contains more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, including the whole of Bell's Acting Edition of Shakespeare's Plays (1774).

  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)

    A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm.

  • Eighteenth-Century Fiction (Chadwyck-Healey)

    A collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700-1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift. In addition to a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, the collection also contains two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela, and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • English Drama (Chadwyck-Healey)

    A unique collection of more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English from the medieval mystery cycles to the comedies of Oscar Wilde.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • English Poetry (Chadwyck-Healey)

    English Poetry contains essentially the complete English poetic canon from the 8th century to the early 20th. Over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets are drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • English Poetry Database

  • English Research Guide

  • English Verse Drama

  • Gale Biography In Context (Gale)

    Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Humanities Source

  • Informe Academico (Gale)

    Created exclusively for Spanish-speaking users, this full-text electronic reference tool provides indexing, images, and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations. Also included is a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Intelex Past Masters

    Contains the electronic versions of

    • Søren Kierkegaard's Journals and Papers
    • Motif-Index of Folk Literature.
    • The Writings of Charles S. Peirce -- A Chronological Edition
    • The Collected Works of John Dewey, 1882-1953
    • Nietzsches Werke: Historisch-kritische Ausgabe

  • JSTOR

    JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Latino Literature (Alexander Street Press)

    Latino Literature is the most comprehensive collection of Latino Literature yet created. When complete it will include 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays, so representing the Chicano culture and all the different ethnicities of Latin American writers with a Hispanic background working in the United States.

  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest)

    This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

  • Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 (Gale)

    Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online

  • Literature Criticism Online (Gale)

    Gale™ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Imagine centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. The net result is tens of thousands of hard-to-find essays at your fingertips. It's all designed to raise the level of research while providing the around-the-clock remote access that today's researchers demand.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Literature Resources from Gale (Gale)

    Biographies, bibliographies and analysis of over 115,000 authors.In-depth coverage of 2000 of the most studied authors.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial (requires Powerpoint)

  • LitFinder (Gale)

    LitFinder is international in scope, covers all time periods, and contains a wealth of primary literature content, including more than 126,500 full-text poems, 850,000 poem citations and excerpts, 5,000 full-text short stories, 2,800 full-text essays, 1,800 full-text speeches, and 1,000 full-text plays. LitFinder also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary. A subject navigator provides over 10,000 subject headings, and basic and advanced search modes allow users to search by keyword, author, subject, work title, work date, nationality, gender, timeline, and more.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial (requires Powerpoint)

  • MagillOnLiterature Plus (EBSCO)

    MagillOnLiterature Plus, produced by Salem Press, is the premier literary database, combining MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors. This database includes all the literary works, reviewed critical analyses and brief plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.

  • MLA International Bibliography (Proquest)

    Provides citations for articles on language, linguistics, literature, and folklore.

  • Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (Gale)

    Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online

  • North American Women's Drama (Alexander Street Press)

    When complete North American Women's Drama will bring together more than 1,500 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. The collection begins with the works of Mercy Otis Warren and Susanna Haswell Rowson in colonial times and will span the 19th and 20th centuries to the present. It is planned to include contemporary playwrights, such as Tina Howe, Beth Henley, Marsha Norman, Maria Irene Fornes, Megan Terry, and Paula Vogel.

  • Oxford English Dictionary

    Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.

  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online

    This resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Encompassing over 5,000 entries, Oxford Islamic Studies Online includes 13 related major Oxford reference sources.

  • Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

    Oxford Language Dictionaries Online provides translations of individual words to and from English, French, Spanish, German, Chinese, Russian, and other languages.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial (requires Powerpoint)

  • Poetry Criticism (Gale)

    Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online

  • Project Muse

    Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

    Project MUSE is managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, in collaboration with the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the Web.

  • Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (Alexander Street Press)

    Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (SWRP) contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.

  • Shakespearean Criticism (Gale)

    Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online

  • Short Story Criticism (Gale)

    Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online

  • Something About the Author Online (Gale)

    Something About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • South and Southeast Asian Literature (Alexander Street Press)

    South and Southeast Asian Literature is a searchable collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their Diasporas. Focusing on works composed during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras, the collection will also feature author interviews and manuscript materials that will shed additional light on the rich literary heritage and emerging traditions of this region. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of classic, rare, and contemporary literature. The database currently has over 45,000 pages.

  • TeachingBooks.net (through INSPIRE)

    TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that is dedicated to adding a multimedia dimension to everyone's reading experiences of children's and young adult books. TeachingBooks.net strives for all teachers, librarians, students, and families to use today's online technologies to meet and learn from the author when reading his or her book. This link gives IUPUI patrons access to most of TeachingBook.net’s resources without registering, including thousands of author videos, book discussion guides, audio book readings, and more. If users want unlimited access to all materials available in the TeachingBooks.net database, they must click on this link and fill out the brief profile (must enter your IUPUI email address).

  • Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive (Gale)

    This rich, easy-to-navigate database is ideal for students and researchers of English literature and other humanities or social science subjects. Unparalleled opportunities for tracking the literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th century are now possible in a powerful digital environment. More than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues of the TLS are available, and-for the first time-the identities of anonymous contributors are disclosed.

  • Twentieth Century American Poetry (Chadwyck-Healey)

    This unparalleled collection includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.

  • Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (Gale)

    Part of library subscription to Literature Criticism Online

  • Victorian Women Writers Project

    The goal of the Victorian Women Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century.

  • Wright American Fiction

    This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included (1,763 unedited, 1,124 fully edited and encoded) by 1,456 authors. See this page for more information. Collection last updated on September 3, 2005.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial