CAN'T CONNECT?

Research

Databases by Subject : History

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • 18th Century Collections Online (Gale)

    A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm.

  • 19th Century British Library Newspapers (Gale)

    19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.

  • 19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)

    With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

  • 19th Century UK Periodicals (Gale)

    19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.

  • ACLS Humanities E-Book

    The ACLS History E-Book Project is a collaboration of eight learned societies, nearly 75 contributing publishers, and librarians at the University of Michigan's Scholarly Publishing Office. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in history, recommended and reviewed by historians.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files (Gale : Archives Unbound)

    The U.S. State Department Central Classified Files are the definitive source of American diplomatic reporting on political, military, social, and economic developments in the twentieth century.

  • America: History and Life (EBSCO)

    Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • American Civil War: Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press)

    The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries knits together more than 1,000 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs to provide fast access to thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war, including what was happening at home. The writings of politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and even spies are included. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also. The materials originate from all regions of the country and are from people who played a variety of roles.

  • American Periodicals (ProQuest)

    Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.

  • Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online, Series 1 (Gale)

    Cengage Learning’s new series The Middle East Online delivers a major overview of the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century, based on primary source documents from The National Archives, London.

    Series One – Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970 – offers the widest range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Here major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states.

  • Archives Unbound (Gale)

    Archives Unbound addresses students and scholars' pressing need to see primary, unpublished archival documents. There is no better way to study the past than through consultation of primary source documents. Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level.

    Archives Unbound includes the following databases:

    • Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files
    • Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
    • Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents
    • Liberation Movement in Africa and African America
    • The Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Panther Movement

  • Bartlett's Quotations (Bartleby)

    Including over 11,000 quotations, the first new edition of John Bartlett's corpus to be published after his death in 1905 keeps most of his original work intact.

  • Bibliography of British and Irish History

    An authoritative guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from the Roman period to the present day.

  • Biography & Genealogy Master Index (Gale)

    Provides citations for biographical information on over 4 million people, from the beginning of time through present day.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Black Thought & Culture (Alexander Street Press)

    When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Houston Baker, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others.

  • Brill Humanities and Social Sciences E-Books

    Campus access is to the following collections for the years 2007-2013:

    • Asian Studies
    • Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East and Early Christianity
    • Classical Studies
    • European History and Culture   
    • Middle East and Islamic Studies
    • Religious Studies, Theology and Philosophy
    • Social Sciences

  • British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press)

    British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries is the largest collection of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it brings the personal experiences of nearly 500 women to researchers, students, and general readers.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • British Newspapers 1600-1900 (Gale)

    The British Newspapers 1600-1900 is the most significant digital collection of British historic newspapers. New conservation and imaging techniques and a new cross-searchable platform adopted by the British Library offers unparalleled access and discoverability to this valuable historical and cultural archive. In addition one will find specially commissioned essays and contextual materials written by expert scholars intended to help non-specialist users with perspective and analysis.

  • C19: The Nineteenth Century Index (Chadwyck-Healey)

    C19: The Nineteenth Century Index is the most comprehensive and dynamic source for discovering nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives.

  • Cambridge Journals Online

    Cambridge Journals Online is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press's collection of nearly 200 leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 (Gale)

    Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 offers fully word-searchable original British Foreign Office documents from the National Archives of the UK, representing the majority of Britain's information flow from occupied territories in Europe, and from Germany itself after the cessation of normal peacetime diplomatic channels. Resistance, economic and social conditions and intelligence operations are all reported through telegrams, letters, coded messages and reports, and this documentary material is contextualised by a Chronology of World War II, cine film footage from the Imperial War Museum London and newly commissioned essays on life under German occupation in France by Prof. Rod Kedward, the Low Countries by Dr Dirk Martin and Norway by Dr Chris Mann. File selection and Introduction by Michael Stenton.

  • Declassified Documents Reference System (Gale)

    Since 1982, Primary Source Media, a division of Gale, has published the Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS). This unique reference product involves indexing, abstracting, and capturing a large selection of U.S. government documents obtained from presidential libraries. These libraries receive declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others. As researchers visit these presidential libraries and request documents, the libraries photocopy and provide them to Gale. The result is a collection of more than 75,000 documents, consisting of more than 465,000 pages, that has literally been built by researchers themselves for nearly two decades.

  • Dictionary of Irish Biography

    The Dictionary of Irish Biography, a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland. It contains over 9,000 signed biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.

  • Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street Press)

    Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters. Particular care has been taken to index the material so that it can be used in new ways. For example, you can identify all encounters between the French and the Huron between 1650 and 1700.

  • Economist Historical Archive (Gale)

    The Economist Historical Archive (EHA) , beginning in 1843, is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables. Altogether this is an unrivaled multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries.

  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)

    A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm.

  • Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 (Gale : Archives Unbound)

    Between the early 1920s and early 1980s, the Justice Department and its Federal Bureau of Investigation engaged in widespread investigation of those deemed politically suspect. Prominent among the targets of this sometimes coordinated, sometimes independent surveillance were aliens, members of various protest groups, Socialists, Communists, pacifists, militant labor unionists, ethnic or racial nationalists, and outspoken opponents of the policies of the incumbent presidents.

    Date Range: 1920-1984
    Content: 88,021 images
    Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library  

  • Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents (Gale : Archives Unbound)

    This collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women.

    The documents in this collection, most of which are in Spanish, fall into three categories: works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers that illustrate or discuss the condition of women.

  • Foreign Relations of the United States

    The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, produced by the State Department’s Office of the Historian, is comprised of more than 500 books of invaluable historical information.

    The Foreign Relations volumes contain documents from various Presidential libraries, the Department of State and Defense, the National Security Council, the Central Intelligence Agency, the Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy.

  • Gale Biography In Context (Gale)

    Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Gale NewsVault

    Gale NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring your library's collection of Gale historical newspapers. With the power to search over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault provides an unparalleled window to the past.          

  • Gale U.S. History in Context (Gale)

    U.S. History in Context provides integrated access to more than 1,000 historical (primary) documents, more than 30,000 reference articles, and over 65 full-text journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes access to the citations for more than 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)

    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

    University Library's collection currently contains:

    • African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience, 2003
    • Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 2v, 2001
    • Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2nd ed., 5v, 2000
    • Environmental Encyclopedia, 3rd ed., 2v, 2003
    • Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook, 2v, 2003
    • Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, 3rd ed., 2011
    • International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family, 2nd ed., 4v, 2003
    • The Literature of War, 3v, 2012
    • New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., 15v, 2003
    • Twenty-First Century Drama, 2v, 2012

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Gale World History in Context (Gale)

    World History in Context is a comprehensive collection of award-winning reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronologic research materials for the study of world history. From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, world history curricula is supported with over 1,800 primary sources, over 27 reference titles and more than 110 journals.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)

    A resource for over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

  • Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)

    Historical Abstracts is a complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

  • Historical Newspapers Online (Chadwyck-Healey)

    Historical Newspapers is a website for historians that provides valuable reference material for students of nineteenth- and twentieth-century history. Historical Newspapers contains four major historical resources:

    • Palmer's Index to the Times which covers the period from 1790 to 1905 in The Times
    • The Official Index to the Times which takes the coverage forward from 1906 to 1980
    • The Historical Index to the New York Times which covers The New York Times from 1851 to September 1922
    • Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785-1870, providing access to the full articles referenced in Palmer's index to the Times

  • Historical Newspapers The New York Times (ProQuest)

    Deep backfile for The New York Times (1851-current) with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Historical Statistics of the United States

    Contains quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Users will be able to graph individual tables or to combine data from different tables into "custom tables" and to download tables for use in spreadsheets and other applications.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • History Research Guide

  • Humanities Source

  • Illustrated London News Historical Archive (Gale)

  • Indiana History Online (Gale)

    Indiana History Online provides a core of primary source documents for the study of Indiana history, packaged with an engaging user interface that provides students and researchers multiple ways of accessing the content. With state and regional histories, travel guides, biographies, speeches and more, the collection provides a range of primary documents.

  • IngentaConnect (Ingenta)

    IngentaConnect is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service. From the home page it is possible to search across more than 27,000 publications, including more than 5,400 electronic journals from more than 190 publishers. Researchers can access publications and articles as subscribers, or on a pay-per-view basis. Publications and articles are available in downloadable electronic format, or as fax or Ariel documents.

  • Iraq, 1914-1974: The Middle East Online, Series 2 (Gale)

    The Middle East Online series delivers a central resource of primary source materials covering the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century.

    Based on British Government and other files in the UK national archives, the series makes a major contribution to research and teaching of Middle East Studies, the workings of diplomacy, of conflict resolution and peace-keeping.

  • JSTOR

    JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • London Low Life

    London Low Life is a full-text searchable resource, containing colour digital images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London. It is designed for both teaching and study, from undergraduate to research students and beyond.

    In addition to the digital documents, London Low Life contains a wealth of secondary resources, including a chronology, interactive maps, essays, online galleries and links to other useful websites.

  • Making of the Modern World (Gale)

    The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II) provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.

  • New York Times, Historical with Index (ProQuest)

    Backfile for the New York times (1851-1993) with search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2005).

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers (Gale)

    19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.

  • Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)

    With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

  • Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Gale)

    19th Century UK Periodicals is a major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of South Africa, the National Library of Australia, and many others.

  • North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories (Alexander Street Press)

    North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Our goal is to include more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, providing a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. Much of the material is previously unpublished. Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Alexander Street Press)

    North American Women's Letters and Diaries is the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, brings the personal experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers, students, and general readers.

  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

    56,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2009.

  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online

    This resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Encompassing over 5,000 entries, Oxford Islamic Studies Online includes 13 related major Oxford reference sources.

  • Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Panther Movement, The (Gale : Archives Unbound)

    The collection consists of materials from the years 1913 through 1998 that document African American author and activist Amiri Baraka and were gathered by Dr. Komozi Woodard in the course of his research. The extensive documentation includes poetry, organizational records, print publications, articles, plays, speeches, personal correspondence, oral histories, as well as some personal records. The materials cover Baraka’s involvement in the politics in Newark, N.J. and in Black Power movement organizations such as the Congress of African People, the National Black Conference movement, the Black Women’s United Front. Later materials document Baraka’s increasing involvement in Marxism.

  • Picture Post Historical Archive (Gale)

  • Post War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950 (Gale)

    Essential primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. This online archive covers the politics and administration of the refugee crisis in Europe after World War II as well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves. From The National Archives of the UK, and The Wiener Library, London. General Editor: Professor Dan Stone, Royal Holloway College, University of London.

  • Project Muse

    Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

    Project MUSE is managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, in collaboration with the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the Web.

  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993)

    Backfile for the New York times (1851-1993) with search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2007).

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale)

    Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers Digital Archive (Gale)

    The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

  • Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960 - 1974 (Alexander Street Press)

    The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. With 150,000 pages of material at completion, this searchable collection is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history, culture, and politics. The database currently has over 38,000 pages.

  • Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale)

    Slavery and Anti-Slavery is a four-part collection devoted to the transatlantic history of slavery. It includes books, manuscripts, court records, and serials. The first part, Debates over Slavery and Abolition, documents the debates surrounding slavery and its abolition in the U.S. but also in the UK and other European countries, the Caribbean, Latin America, and Africa. Future parts are Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Institution of Slavery, and Age of Emancipation. Once completed, it will include over 5 million pages.

  • Times Digital Archive (Gale)

    The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online.
    By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward.

  • Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive (Gale)

    This rich, easy-to-navigate database is ideal for students and researchers of English literature and other humanities or social science subjects. Unparalleled opportunities for tracking the literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th century are now possible in a powerful digital environment. More than 250,000 reviews, letters, poems and articles in more than 5,000 issues of the TLS are available, and-for the first time-the identities of anonymous contributors are disclosed.

  • Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive (Gale)

  • U.S. History in Context (Gale)

    U.S. History in Context provides integrated access to more than 1,000 historical (primary) documents, more than 30,000 reference articles, and over 65 full-text journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes access to the citations for more than 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 (Gale)

    Containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, this product provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system

  • Web of Science

    The Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Women and Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000) (Alexander Street Press)

    This Worldwide Web site is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.

  • World History in Context (Gale)

    World History in Context is a comprehensive collection of award-winning reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and charts which provide expansive geographic and chronologic research materials for the study of world history. From ancient Europe to Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, world history curricula is supported with over 1,800 primary sources, over 27 reference titles and more than 110 journals.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • World History in Video (North America) (Alexander Street Press)

    World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.

  • World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean

    This database provides a portal with access to reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data. An archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad. The archive and portal serve as both integrated and standalone resources.