CAN'T CONNECT?

Databases by Subject : Government Resources

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • CQ Researcher Online (CQ Press)

    The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Declassified Documents Reference System (Gale)

    Since 1982, Primary Source Media, a division of Gale, has published the Declassified Documents Reference System (DDRS). This unique reference product involves indexing, abstracting, and capturing a large selection of U.S. government documents obtained from presidential libraries. These libraries receive declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others. As researchers visit these presidential libraries and request documents, the libraries photocopy and provide them to Gale. The result is a collection of more than 75,000 documents, consisting of more than 465,000 pages, that has literally been built by researchers themselves for nearly two decades.

  • Digital National Security Archive (Chadwyck-Healey)

    he Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive collection of primary documents available. The database includes more than 60,000 of the most important declassified documents regarding critical U.S. policy decisions. There are 27 complete collections, each offering specialized insights. Integrated, they allow you to explore policy across several different areas at once.

  • Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 (Gale : Archives Unbound)

    Between the early 1920s and early 1980s, the Justice Department and its Federal Bureau of Investigation engaged in widespread investigation of those deemed politically suspect. Prominent among the targets of this sometimes coordinated, sometimes independent surveillance were aliens, members of various protest groups, Socialists, Communists, pacifists, militant labor unionists, ethnic or racial nationalists, and outspoken opponents of the policies of the incumbent presidents.

    Date Range: 1920-1984
    Content: 88,021 images
    Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library  

  • Foreign Relations of the United States

    The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, produced by the State Department’s Office of the Historian, is comprised of more than 500 books of invaluable historical information.

    The Foreign Relations volumes contain documents from various Presidential libraries, the Department of State and Defense, the National Security Council, the Central Intelligence Agency, the Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy.

  • Government Information Research Guide

  • HeinOnline

    The world's most-comprehensive online collection of image-based legal journals, statutes, U.S. treaties and other documents.

  • Historical Statistics of the United States

    Contains quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. Users will be able to graph individual tables or to combine data from different tables into "custom tables" and to download tables for use in spreadsheets and other applications.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Homeland Security Digital Library

    The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy. HSDL content includes state-of-the-art multi-media offerings and other valuable assets identified by CHDS master's degree participants and instructors.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • LexisNexis Academic

    LexisNexis Academic provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
    The 5,900 sources include:

    • National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources
    • U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information
    • Shepard's® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789
    • Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)

    Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for nearly 400 titles.

  • Proquest Congressional (Index 1789-present)

    Congress is the single most important information-producing institution in the United States. Behind every major bill debated, behind every issue discussed lie months of intensive investigation and analysis. The "working papers" that result from these efforts often represent the best information available anywhere on a given subject. That's because Congress has some of the nation's top experts on its staff, and the authority to call witnesses from throughout the world to testify on virtually any issue of concern.  This resource includes:

    • Committee Prints & Miscellaneous Publications (Full Text) (1830-present)
    • Serial Set (Full Text) (1789-present)
    • House & Senate Reports (1817-present)
    • House & Senate Documents (1817-present)
    • Hearings (Full Text) (1824-present)
    • Prints (Full Text) (1824-present)
    • Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) (Full Text) (1916-present)

  • SIRS Government Reporter

    Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, SIRS Government Reporter delivers thousands of full-text documents, summaries and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, business and industry. Articles and graphics are carefully selected according to strict criteria with regard to content and age appropriateness.  Additional content provides current and historic government documents; landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions; information about U.S. Justices, U.S. Presidents, elected leaders, federal departments and agencies. National Archives Documents and Country Profiles are also included.

  • U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 (Gale)

    Containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, this product provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system

  • UNBISnet (United Nations)

    Catalogue of United Nations(UN) documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. The coverage of UNBISnet is from 1979 onward, however, older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis as a result of retrospective conversion.

  • USGS Publications Warehouse

    The USGS (United States Geological Survey) Warehouse contains access to all USGS numbered series since 1880, full product and thematic map content for over 40,000 publications and bibliographic citations for over 70,000 publications.