CAN'T CONNECT?

Databases by Subject : General Interest

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • STAT!REF

    Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks.  IUPUI access includes the following:

    • AAFP Conditions A to Z (2013)
    • Best Practices in Infection Prevention and Control (2nd Ed : 2012)
    • International Perspective (2nd Ed. : 2012)
    • Introductions to Epidemiology (5th Ed. : 2010)
    • MedCalc 3000: Complete Edition
    • Oxford Textbook of Public Health (5th Ed. : 2009)
    • Stedman’s Medical Dictionary (28th Ed. : 2006)

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

    This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis.

    This database is partially paid for by INSPIRE.

  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-1994)

    ACCESSIBLE ONLY IN UNIVERSITY LIBRARY. Provides citation searching in the fields of art, literature, history.

  • Associations Unlimited (Gale)

    Source for associations - use this database to locate approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. The database is also used to monitor association trends; identify related associations; networking and making professional contacts; marketing to associations, their members and markets.

  • Bartleby

    Literature and reference books on the web.

  • Bartlett's Quotations (Bartleby)

    Including over 11,000 quotations, the first new edition of John Bartlett's corpus to be published after his death in 1905 keeps most of his original work intact.

  • Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO)

    Book Review Digest provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of current adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Over 7,000 English-language books are covered by the database each year. Concise, critical evaluations are chosen from 109 leading American, British and Canadian periodicals in the humanities, social and general sciences, as well as library review media. Covering a wide range of review media and offering an enormous variety of reviews -- all carefully excerpted to convey the diversity of critical opinion on a title -- Book Review Digest is the most convenient way for patrons to obtain information on prominent new books.

    This database covers the period 1983-present.

  • Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982 (EBSCO)

    Book Review Digest Retrospective provides excerpts from, and citations to, reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Citations with excerpts of reviews of juvenile and adult fiction and nonfiction in the English language are included. Virtually every book has at least one substantial review excerpt, and most have at least two.

    Reviews of the following types of books are excluded: government publications, textbooks, and technical books in the sciences and law. However, books on science for the general reader are included. The reviews originate in a group of selected periodicals in the humanities, social sciences, and general science published in the United States, Canada, and Great Britain.

    This database covers the period 1905-1982.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • British Periodicals (ProQuest)

    This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

  • CBCA Complete (ProQuest)

    This product includes all the content present in the Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) databases. Subject coverage is comprehensive. Information is present from all areas including: current events, business, education, science and medicine, arts, law, academia, and lifestyles, all with a Canadian focus. Full text is available within these areas. CBCA Complete is ideal for anyone interested in Canada.

  • Chicago Manual of Style Online

    With state-of-the-art recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices in the digital age, The Chicago Manual of Style is the must-have reference for everyone who works with words.

  • CollegeSource

    A virtual library representing college catalogs in full cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools.

  • Credo Reference (formerly xreferplus)

    Credo Reference (formerly xreferplus) offers access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Current Index to Statistics

    The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields.

  • Dissertations & Theses @ CIC Institutions (ProQuest)

    This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at your institution.

  • Dissertations & Theses A&I (ProQuest)

    This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.

  • ebrary

    Discover over 20,000 full-text books in multiple academic and general interest subject areas, sheet music titles and reports.

    Want to download ebrary content to one of your portable devices?  Click here.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Emerald Insight Full Text (Emerald)

    A powerful business research tool that provides critical information when it is most needed. Users have instant access to over 35,000 full text articles from Emerald's international management portfolio, complete with full text archives back to 1994. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

    Since the Encyclopaedia Britannica's founding in 1768, Britannica editors have gathered and organized information on thousands of topics for easy retrieval.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Funk and Wagnalls New Encyclopedia (EBSCO)

    Features over 25,000 informative segments of the encyclopedia.

  • Gale Biography In Context (Gale)

    Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

    Opposing Viewpoints In Context draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale Group and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. Opposing Viewpoints In Context will also provide full-text magazines and newspapers, plus exclusive electronic access to selections from the Information Plus reference line.The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics- the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

  • Gale Student Resources in Context (Gale)

    Fully integrated to support information needs across the curriculum, Student Resource Center In Context contains award-winning content based on actual assignments and national curriculum standards. Students and educators will find thousands of biographies, criticisms, topical and overview essays, photographs and illustrations, hard-to-find primary source documents, and hours of audio and video files. Further, Student Resource Center In Context provides full-text coverage from more than 1,250 magazines and newspapers that are updated daily.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)

    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

    University Library's collection currently contains:

    • African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience, 2003
    • Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 2v, 2001
    • Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2nd ed., 5v, 2000
    • Environmental Encyclopedia, 3rd ed., 2v, 2003
    • Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook, 2v, 2003
    • Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, 3rd ed., 2011
    • International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family, 2nd ed., 4v, 2003
    • The Literature of War, 3v, 2012
    • New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., 15v, 2003
    • Twenty-First Century Drama, 2v, 2012

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Historical Newspapers The New York Times (ProQuest)

    Deep backfile for The New York Times (1851-current) with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Humanities Source

  • Indianapolis Star (1991-present) (ProQuest)

    Not available in Columbus.

  • IngentaConnect (Ingenta)

    IngentaConnect is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service. From the home page it is possible to search across more than 27,000 publications, including more than 5,400 electronic journals from more than 190 publishers. Researchers can access publications and articles as subscribers, or on a pay-per-view basis. Publications and articles are available in downloadable electronic format, or as fax or Ariel documents.

  • IU Press Online (IUPO)

    IU Press Online offers a robust collection of electronic editions of Indiana University Press books and themed journal issues. Titles are organized into subject area collections for easy browsing, searching,

  • IUCAT: Library Catalog

    IUCAT contains records for more than 5 million items held by the Indiana University Libraries statewide. For help using IUCAT, view the follwing tutorials: IUCAT: Author Search, IUCAT: Journal Search, IUCAT: Keyword Search .

  • MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCO)

    This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, American Visions, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers + Colleges, Civil War Times Illustrated, CQ Weekly, Discover, Economist, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 88,000 biographies and 60,000 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra (School Edition) contains more than 540 pamphlets, nearly 150 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac + Book of Facts), an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps + flags, color PDF and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

  • MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)

    Gain access to information on a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health and multi-cultural with MasterFILE Premier™. This vast database includes:

    • Searchable full text for over 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week.
    • Full text dating as far back as January 1990
    • abstracts and indexing for over 2,800 journals, many dating back to 1984.
    • Charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text
    • searchable full text for nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews.
    • Essential Documents in American History--a database of over 1,000 original historical documents including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
    • coverage of The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.

  • McClatchy-Tribune Collection (EBSCO)

    The McClatchy-Tribune Collection includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune wire service. The data is updated daily.

  • Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary & Thesaurus Online

  • National Geographic Virtual Library

    National Geographic Virtual Library (NGVL) supports a range of scholarly research needs in the areas of science, history, technology, the environment, cultures, and more. NGVL brings the National Geographic Society to the library in a cross-searchable platform that fits the way today's students and patrons conduct their research.  Allows full access to the magazine’s archive (1888-1994).

  • netLibrary (now eBooks from EBSCOhost)

    This site provides access to your library's eBook collection. When you enter the site from an affiliated library, you will see the name of your library in the box on the right side of the screen. Once you have accessed your library's affiliated site, you are able to search and view the full text of all the eBooks in your library's eBook collection.

  • New York Times (1980-present) (Proquest)

    Including access to most of current day’s content.

  • New York Times, Historical with Index (ProQuest)

    Backfile for the New York times (1851-1993) with search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2005).

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • NewsBank (Access World News)

    The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.

  • Newspaper Source (EBSCO)

    This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.

  • Newspapers (ProQuest)

    Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources and news wires; includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London as well as local and regional publications.

  • O*NET Online

    The O*NET Online system serves as the nation's primary source of occupational information, providing comprehensive information on key attributes and characteristics of workers and occupations.

  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

    Opposing Viewpoints In Context draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale Group and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. Opposing Viewpoints In Context will also provide full-text magazines and newspapers, plus exclusive electronic access to selections from the Information Plus reference line.The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics- the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

  • Oxford English Dictionary

    Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.

  • Oxford Reference Online

    Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

  • Oxford University Press Journals

    Search journals published by Oxford University Press.

  • Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest)

    Periodicals Index Online is the new name for Periodicals Contents Index - a database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.

  • ProQuest Central (ProQuest)

    The largest multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, more than 8,000 in full-text. It serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels with over 160 subject areas covered extensively in including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.

  • ProQuest Databases

    See also Proquest Thesaurus List.

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @ CIC Institutions (ProQuest)

    This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at your institution.

  • Proquest Dissertations & Theses A&I (ProQuest)

    This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.

  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993)

    Backfile for the New York times (1851-1993) with search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2007).

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • ProQuest Newsstand (ProQuest)

    Search the full collection of newspapers.

  • Reader's Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)

    Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

    Subjects Covered
    Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Reference Shelf

    Guide to print and online resources for quick look up of facts, figures, and information, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and writing style guides.

  • Research Library (ProQuest)

    Search for coverage of a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Coverage: 1971-present.

  • SIRS Discoverer

    Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, SIRS Discoverer is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades 1-9. Discoverer is intended to help students develop their research, writing, language, and computer skills.

  • SIRS Issues Researcher

    Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, it is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12.  It delivers the content, context and connections for research and analysis of the leading issues surrounding the most debated and protracted contemporary issues. 

  • SIRS Knowledge Source

    SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) Intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12, SIRS SKS provides a portal to access to entire suite of SIRS SKS. 

  • SIRS Renaissance

    Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, it is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12. SIRS Renaissance (Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanities) is a reference database that provides information related to architecture, design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, plus visual arts.  Full-text articles are selected from more than 1,000 domestic and international publications.  Many articles are accompanied by full-color images, including art reproductions, photographs and illustrations.

  • SIRS WebSelect

    Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, it is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12. SIRS WebSelect is an online database of carefully selected, reliable and credible Internet resources on vital issues and topics. WebSelect is dynamically updated and offers Internet resources from around the globe, including those of leading universities, government agencies and respected organizations.

  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1987-present)

    The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It is a database in the Web of Science.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • STAT!REF

    Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks.  IUPUI access includes the following:

    • AAFP Conditions A to Z (2013)
    • Best Practices in Infection Prevention and Control : International Perspective (2nd Ed : 2012)
    • Introductions to Epidemiology (5th Ed. : 2010)
    • MedCalc 3000: Complete Edition
    • Oxford Textbook of Public Health (5th Ed. : 2009)
    • Stedman’s Medical Dictionary (28th Ed. : 2006)

  • Student Resources in Context (Gale)

    Fully integrated to support information needs across the curriculum, Student Resource Center In Context contains award-winning content based on actual assignments and national curriculum standards. Students and educators will find thousands of biographies, criticisms, topical and overview essays, photographs and illustrations, hard-to-find primary source documents, and hours of audio and video files. Further, Student Resource Center In Context provides full-text coverage from more than 1,250 magazines and newspapers that are updated daily.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • TOPICsearch (EBSCO)

    This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 78,000 articles from more than 3,000 diverse sources, including nearly 1,450 full text periodicals

  • Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory

    Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory is an important tool for reference, research, and serials management. This database provides information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world, plus thousands of newpapers.
    This database allows users to retrieve, manipulate, and scrutinise citations from myriad perspectives, including 970 subject categories, ISSN, subscription rates, publisher name, title, editor, electronic availability and more. Updated quarterly, the database also provides contact information for over 80,000 publishers from over 200 countries worldwide. With over 250,000 records,Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory is ideal for anyone requiring detailed information on journals, magazines and other serial publications.

  • WorldCat (OCLC)

    OCLC WorldCat database is the OCLC online catalog. It contains over 43 million records describing library holdings.