CAN'T CONNECT?

Databases by Subject : Engineering & Technology

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

    This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis.

    This database is partially paid for by INSPIRE.

  • ACM Digital Library

    The ACM Digital Library provides full-text access to all Association of Computing Machinery articles ever published, including magazine, journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. Access is also provided to the Computing Reviews and Guide to Computing Literature.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Annual Reviews

    Provides the full-text of authoritative literature reviews covering a variety of social science and science disciplines. It includes both broad and deep coverage of the life, health, and medical sciences. Can be searched by individual title, subject series, or across the entire collection.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Applied Science & Technology Full Text (EBSCO)

    Indexes articles, product evaluations, and book reviews in over 390 leading English-language periodicals published in the U.S. and elsewhere. The database includes trade and industrial publications, journals of professional and learned societies, and specialized subject periodicals.

  • Art Full Text (EBSCO)

    Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full-text coverage begins in 1997.

  • ASHRAE Handbook (link for in-library use only; users outside of library see note below)

    The ASHRAE Handbook is published in a series of four volumes, one of which is revised each year, ensuring that no volume is older than four years. Each volume is available in I-P (Inch-Pound) or SI (Systeme International) units of measurement.


    Users outside of library must download “FileOpen” and “Adobe Acrobat Reader”.  To download required software, click ASHRAE Handbook here.  

  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest)

    The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. These include not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.

  • Books24x7

    Books24x7.com contains hundreds of "best-of-breed" books from the world's top publishers such as MIT Press, Microsoft Press, Osborne/McGraw-Hill, Que, Sams, Sybex and Wiley. New books are constantly added.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial (requires IUPUI Authentication)

  • Career and Technical Education (ProQuest)

    Vocational information for both students and instructors in community colleges, two-year institutions, public libraries, and high schools offering technical courses. Vocational/technical topics include technology, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, photography, and nursing.

  • CivilENGINEERINGnetBASE

    CivilENGINEERINGnetBASE is part of ENGnetBASE: The Engineering Database Online. Offering many of CRC's bestselling handbooks and references, this database provides the civil engineering field with access to essential formulas, updated codes, and late-breaking developments that are shaping the field.

    To limit to only IUPUI-accessible material, users should tick the box next to “Search Full Access Content Only."

  • Comprehensive Composite Materials (Elsevier)

  • CRCnetBASE

    This link allows the user to search across all CRCnetBASE databases to which the library subscribes. These currently include:

    • CivilENGINEERINGnetBASE
    • ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE
    • ENGnetBASE
    • MechanicalENGINEERINGnetBASE
    • TELECOMMUNICATIONSnetBASE

    To limit to only IUPUI-accessible material, users should tick the box next to “Search Full Access Content Only."

  • DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest)

    The Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making it the largest index of its kind in the world. Research articles are covered, along with topical news items, conference and seminar reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Each reference includes full bibliographic details and a brief abstract.

    Education Directory and Periodicals Directory should be searched separately in the native interface (click on arrow next to database name).

  • Ei Compendex

    The Ei Compendex® database is the machine-readable version of the Engineering Index, which provides abstracted information from the world's significant engineering and technological literature, some 2,600 international journals, conference papers and technical reports. Each year 220,000 new abstracts are added from 175 disciplines and major specialities within engineering.

  • ElecticalENGINEERINGnetBASE

    ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE is part of ENGnetBASE: The Engineering Database Online. Offering many of CRC's bestselling handbooks and references, this database provides the electrical engineering field with access to essential formulas, updated codes, and late-breaking developments that are shaping the field.

    To limit to only IUPUI-accessible material, users should tick the box next to “Search Full Access Content Only."

  • Engineering & Technology Research Guide

  • ENGnetBASE

    Offering over 500 of CRC's bestselling handbooks and references, ENGnetBASE: The Engineering Database Online provides all fields of engineering with access to essential formulas, updated codes, and late-breaking developments that are shaping the field. The library's subscription includes —

    • CivilENGINEERINGnetBASE
    • ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE
    • MechanicalENGINEERINGnetBASE
    • TELECOMMUNICATIONSnetBASE

    To limit to only IUPUI-accessible material, users should tick the box next to “Search Full Access Content Only."

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • IEEE Xplore

    IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

  • IngentaConnect (Ingenta)

    IngentaConnect is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service. From the home page it is possible to search across more than 27,000 publications, including more than 5,400 electronic journals from more than 190 publishers. Researchers can access publications and articles as subscribers, or on a pay-per-view basis. Publications and articles are available in downloadable electronic format, or as fax or Ariel documents.

  • Institute of Physics Journals (IOP)

    Search electronic journals from the Institute of Physics.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • MAD CAD Building Codes eLibrary

    Subscription based MAD-CAD contains the building codes and knowledge based solutions and guidelines to meet the codes. MAD-CAD provides access to a comprehensive cross-referenced collection of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA; and state and local codes. This comprehensive set of codes in conjunction with the search engine and organizational tools provide an intelligent and efficient system for architectural, engineering and educational solutions.

  • MechanicalENGINEERINGnetBASE

    MechanicalENGINEERINGnetBASE is part of ENGnetBASE: The Engineering Database Online. Offering many of CRC's bestselling handbooks and references, this database provides the mechanical engineering field with access to essential formulas, updated codes, and late-breaking developments that are shaping the field.

    To limit to only IUPUI-accessible material, users should tick the box next to “Search Full Access Content Only."

  • MEDLINE (EBSCO)

    Research authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more with MEDLINE®.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial (requires Powerpoint)

  • MEDLINE (Ovid)

    The MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • MEDLINE In-Process & Non-Indexed Citations (Ovid)

    Database of MEDLINE records in progress.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Pharmaceutical News Index (ProQuest)

    Search the definitive database of pharmacological news, research, and regulatory information. Covers the most important specialized publications in the pharmaceutical, health care, biotechnology, and medical device industries.

  • PubMed

    PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • SAE Technical Papers

    SAE Technical Papers are written and peer-reviewed by experts in the automotive, aerospace, and commercial vehicle industries. The library’s subscription gives access to more than 92,000 technical papers on the latest advances in technical research and applied technical engineering information. 

  • Scitation

    Scitation provides online journal articles relevant to engineering, biophysics, chemical biology, bioinformatics, and computing.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • SPIE Digital Library

    The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 300,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually.  Note: IUPUI subscription does NOT include SPIE eBooks.

  • SpringerLink E-books

    Access to over 12,000 titles in the subject areas of science, technology, mathematics, medicine and nursing. Note: If book is available to IUPUI users, the box to the right of the title will be in green.

  • TELECOMMUNICATIONSnetBASE

    TELECOMMUNICATIONSnetBASE is part of ENGnetBASE: The Engineering Database Online. Offering many of CRC's bestselling handbooks and references, this database provides the telecommunications field with access to essential formulas, updated codes, and late-breaking developments that are shaping the field.

    To limit to only IUPUI-accessible material, users should tick the box next to “Search Full Access Content Only."

  • Web of Science (ISI)

    The ISI Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. ISI Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Wiley Online Library

    More than 300 online publications for researchers and professionals.