- Find Articles & More
- Find Books & More
- Research a Topic
- Information Literacy
- Digital Scholarship
- About Us
- Library Hours
- Library Policies
Databases by Subject : Education
Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?
The Cabell's Directories to which we have access include:
- Economics & Finance
- Educational Curriculum & Methods
- Educational Psychology & Administration
- Educational Technology & Library Science.
- Psychology & Psychiatry
Career and Technical Education (ProQuest)
Vocational information for both students and instructors in community colleges, two-year institutions, public libraries, and high schools offering technical courses. Vocational/technical topics include technology, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, photography, and nursing.
Education Full Text (EBSCO)
Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Full text of articles cover to cover, from hundreds of journals, make this a one-stop source for research.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 (EBSCO)
Covering a century of research, this database provides cover-to-cover indexing for an international range of English-language periodicals and yearbooks. It includes accurate, detailed, cover-to-cover indexing of some 500 periodicals, as far back as 1929! It cites nearly one million articles, including book reviews.
Education Journals (ProQuest)
Access to over 785 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text, offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics.
- Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost)
- Education Research Guide
Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection (part of SAGE Journals Online)
Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection covers such subject areas as: Adult and Continuing Education, Educational Administration, Educational Policy, Elementary and Primary Education, High School and Secondary Education, Higher Education, International Education, Leadership, Measurement and Testing, Multicultural Education and Diversity, Professional Development, Teaching and Instruction, Teaching Methods.
Educational Administration Abstracts (EBSCO)
Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC.
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Opposing Viewpoints In Context draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale Group and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. Opposing Viewpoints In Context will also provide full-text magazines and newspapers, plus exclusive electronic access to selections from the Information Plus reference line.The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics- the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.
This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
University Library's collection currently contains:
- African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience, 2003
- Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 2v, 2001
- Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2nd ed., 5v, 2000
- Environmental Encyclopedia, 3rd ed., 2v, 2003
- Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook, 2v, 2003
- Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, 3rd ed., 2011
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family, 2nd ed., 4v, 2003
- The Literature of War, 3v, 2012
- New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., 15v, 2003
- Twenty-First Century Drama, 2v, 2012
Need Help? Try this tutorial
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
IngentaConnect is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service. From the home page it is possible to search across more than 27,000 publications, including more than 5,400 electronic journals from more than 190 publishers. Researchers can access publications and articles as subscribers, or on a pay-per-view basis. Publications and articles are available in downloadable electronic format, or as fax or Ariel documents.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/
Need Help? Try this tutorial
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest)
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Physical Education Index (ProQuest)
The surge of academic, professional and personal interest in the field of physical education has resulted in a huge volume of scholarly and trade literature. Since 1970 Physical Education Index has been covering this vast collection of material. Records are indexed and classified from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Beginning in January 2001, enhancements to the database include the addition of abstracts, e-mail addresses, expanded publisher and author information, and other data to facilitate access to the fulltext.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCO)
The database provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators. This collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice.
PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO)
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. This traditional version offers basic keyword searching, multi-term keyword searching, visual searching, citation searching, and index term browsing.
Practitioners, researchers, and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. PsycINFO includes psychological research and its applications; the database is of prime relevance to many industries and research establishments worldwide. The sources include over 1,400 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally.
Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycTESTS serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS® also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English. PsycTESTS® is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press)
Rehabilitation Therapy in Video is a collection of streaming videos created specifically for the education and training of occupational therapists, physical therapists, speech-language pathologists, special educators and therapy assistants. Therapist notes and leader guides are also included for most of the titles and the videos have been approved for educational use by accrediting agencies such as AOTA, APTA and ASHA. New videos will be added regularly, ensuring that users always have the most up-to-date video content available. Videos may be replaced (and archived) in order to reflect changes in accepted practices and principles.
Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, SIRS Discoverer is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades 1-9. Discoverer is intended to help students develop their research, writing, language, and computer skills.
SIRS Government Reporter
Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, SIRS Government Reporter delivers thousands of full-text documents, summaries and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, business and industry. Articles and graphics are carefully selected according to strict criteria with regard to content and age appropriateness. Additional content provides current and historic government documents; landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions; information about U.S. Justices, U.S. Presidents, elected leaders, federal departments and agencies. National Archives Documents and Country Profiles are also included.
SIRS Issues Researcher
Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, it is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12. It delivers the content, context and connections for research and analysis of the leading issues surrounding the most debated and protracted contemporary issues.
SIRS Knowledge Source
SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) Intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12, SIRS SKS provides a portal to access to entire suite of SIRS SKS.
Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, it is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12. SIRS Renaissance (Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanities) is a reference database that provides information related to architecture, design, culture, literature, multimedia, music, performing arts, philosophy and religion, plus visual arts. Full-text articles are selected from more than 1,000 domestic and international publications. Many articles are accompanied by full-color images, including art reproductions, photographs and illustrations.
Part of the SIRS Knowledge Source suite of products, it is intended for beginning learners and researchers in grades K-12. SIRS WebSelect is an online database of carefully selected, reliable and credible Internet resources on vital issues and topics. WebSelect is dynamically updated and offers Internet resources from around the globe, including those of leading universities, government agencies and respected organizations.
Something About the Author Online (Gale)
Something About the Author Online provides first-time comprehensive online access to all volumes ever printed in Gale's™ acclaimed and long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. Something About the Author Online includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 images - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Need Help? Try this tutorial
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators.
- Teachers College Record Book Reviews
TeachingBooks.net (through INSPIRE)
TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that is dedicated to adding a multimedia dimension to everyone's reading experiences of children's and young adult books. TeachingBooks.net strives for all teachers, librarians, students, and families to use today's online technologies to meet and learn from the author when reading his or her book. This link gives IUPUI patrons access to most of TeachingBook.net’s resources without registering, including thousands of author videos, book discussion guides, audio book readings, and more. If users want unlimited access to all materials available in the TeachingBooks.net database, they must click on this link and fill out the brief profile (must enter your IUPUI email address).
Test in Print (now part of Mental Measurements with Tests in Print (EBSCO))
Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).