CAN'T CONNECT?

Research

Databases by Subject : Communication

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

    This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis.

    This database is partially paid for by INSPIRE.

  • AdvertisingAge

    IUPUI’s subscription to Ad Age includes access to the weekly publication as well as the DataCenter which features features premium content, including profiles of top advertisers, media, agencies, special databases, and more.  Access to the DataCenter is available via a tab from AdvertisingAge or by clicking here.

  • Bartlett's Quotations (Bartleby)

    Including over 11,000 quotations, the first new edition of John Bartlett's corpus to be published after his death in 1905 keeps most of his original work intact.

  • ComAbstracts (CIOS)

    The ComAbstracts database contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • ComIndex Online

    Bibliographic indexes to the primary scholarly literature in communication.

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

    Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Communication Studies Research Guide

  • CQ Researcher Online (CQ Press)

    The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

    Since the Encyclopaedia Britannica's founding in 1768, Britannica editors have gathered and organized information on thousands of topics for easy retrieval.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

    Opposing Viewpoints In Context draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale Group and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. Opposing Viewpoints In Context will also provide full-text magazines and newspapers, plus exclusive electronic access to selections from the Information Plus reference line.The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics- the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

  • Humanities Source

  • IngentaConnect (Ingenta)

    IngentaConnect is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service. From the home page it is possible to search across more than 27,000 publications, including more than 5,400 electronic journals from more than 190 publishers. Researchers can access publications and articles as subscribers, or on a pay-per-view basis. Publications and articles are available in downloadable electronic format, or as fax or Ariel documents.

  • IUCAT: Library Catalog

    IUCAT contains records for more than 5 million items held by the Indiana University Libraries statewide. For help using IUCAT, view the follwing tutorials: IUCAT: Author Search, IUCAT: Journal Search, IUCAT: Keyword Search .

  • MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)

    Gain access to information on a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health and multi-cultural with MasterFILE Premier™. This vast database includes:

    • Searchable full text for over 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week.
    • Full text dating as far back as January 1990
    • abstracts and indexing for over 2,800 journals, many dating back to 1984.
    • Charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text
    • searchable full text for nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews.
    • Essential Documents in American History--a database of over 1,000 original historical documents including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
    • coverage of The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.

  • McClatchy-Tribune Collection (EBSCO)

    The McClatchy-Tribune Collection includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune wire service. The data is updated daily.

  • Newspaper Source (EBSCO)

    This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.

  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)

    Opposing Viewpoints In Context draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale Group and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. Opposing Viewpoints In Context will also provide full-text magazines and newspapers, plus exclusive electronic access to selections from the Information Plus reference line.The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics- the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

  • Oxford English Dictionary

    Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.

  • PsycINFO 1887-current (EBSCO)

    PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. This traditional version offers basic keyword searching, multi-term keyword searching, visual searching, citation searching, and index term browsing.

    Practitioners, researchers, and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioral sciences, and other related disciplines. PsycINFO includes psychological research and its applications; the database is of prime relevance to many industries and research establishments worldwide. The sources include over 1,400 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally.

  • Reader's Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO)

    Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.

    Subjects Covered
    Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Rehabilitation Therapy in Video (Alexander Street Press)

    Rehabilitation Therapy in Video is a collection of streaming videos created specifically for the education and training of occupational therapists, physical therapists, speech-language pathologists, special educators and therapy assistants.  Therapist notes and leader guides are also included for most of the titles and the videos have been approved for educational use by accrediting agencies such as AOTA, APTA and ASHA.  New videos will be added regularly, ensuring that users always have the most up-to-date video content available. Videos may be replaced (and archived) in order to reflect changes in accepted practices and principles.

  • Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)

    CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

  • TOPICsearch (EBSCO)

    This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 78,000 articles from more than 3,000 diverse sources, including nearly 1,450 full text periodicals