CAN'T CONNECT?

Research

Databases by Subject : Classics

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • Annee Philologique

    L'Année philologique contains 375,000 bibliographic records for the years 1969 to 2001, with 12,500 new records added each year. Its international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Publication information for articles is accompanied by a brief abstract and all the records are classified in a two-parts system: Ancient authors and texts, Subjects and disciplines.

  • AP Images

    AP Images provides a sensory journey of photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history.

  • Art Source

    Developed from a merger of databases from EBSCO and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.

  • Beazley Archive

    Includes images of vases and sculptures of the Classical world for research and education.

  • Bibliography of the History of Art

    The premier art database, Bibliography of the History of Art from the J. Paul Getty Trust and CNRS-INIST, covers the current international literature on the history of art in Europe and the New World. The database surveys the visual arts and material culture from late antiquity to the present. Included are both the fine arts (architecture, sculpture, painting, drawing and prints) and decorative and applied arts (popular art, folk art). BHA indexes and abstracts 1,400 journals, as well as books, conference proceedings, essays, exhibition catalogues, selected art dealers' catalogues, doctoral dissertations and microform publications. Abstracts are in either French or English and the thesaurus for data from 1990 is in both languages. BHA incorporates the complete contents of International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA) and Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie (RAA).

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Brill Humanities and Social Sciences E-Books

    Campus access is to the following collections for the years 2007-2013:

    • Asian Studies
    • Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East and Early Christianity
    • Classical Studies
    • European History and Culture   
    • Middle East and Islamic Studies
    • Religious Studies, Theology and Philosophy
    • Social Sciences

  • Classics Research Guide

  • DIDO Digital Images Delivered Online

    Includes images of classical works of art and architecture for study and education.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Grove Art Online

    Grove Art Online (now known as Oxford Art Online) provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Humanities Source

  • JSTOR

    JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Oxford Art Online

    Oxford Art Online (formerly known as Grove Art Online) provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Perseus Digital Library

    Perseus is an evolving digital library, engineering interactions through time, space, and language. Our primary goal is to bring a wide range of source materials to as large an audience as possible. We anticipate that greater accessibility to the sources for the study of the humanities will strengthen the quality of questions, lead to new avenues of research, and connect more people through the connection of ideas.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Project Muse

    Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

    Project MUSE is managed by the Johns Hopkins University Press, in collaboration with the participating publishers and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at the Johns Hopkins University, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the Web.