CAN'T CONNECT?

Research

Databases by Subject : Business

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)

    ABI/INFORM Complete includes three distinct databases:

    ABI/INFORM Dateline - Local and regional coverage of company, industry and business news; excellent source of information about private and small public companies not typically found in the national business press.

    ABI/INFORM Global - Search 1000 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on business topics: advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, management; also company and industry information.

    ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry - Contains more than 700 trade publications covering every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and health.

  • Amadeus

    AMADEUS is a comprehensive, pan-European database containing financial information on 7 million public and private companies in 38 European countries. It combines data from over 35 information providers (IPs). AMADEUS is a modular product; you can choose the level of coverage that you require - the top 250,000 companies, the top 1.5 million or all companies.

  • Business Index ASAP (Gale)

    Business Index contains full text articles and images from academic and business journals. It also provides information on management issues, economic indicators and business theories and practices, as well as on the activities of companies and industries worldwide.

  • Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)

    Gale Business Insights: Essentials is a comprehensive research tool that meets core curriculum requirements in undergraduate and graduate case study work as well as the business research needs of the job seeker or casual investor. It offers dynamic, accurate, and up-to-date topical business information and company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

  • Business Research Guide

  • Business Source Premier (EBSCO)

    Business Source Premier is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business.

  • Cabell's Directories

    The Cabell's Directories to which we have access include:

    • Accounting
    • Economics & Finance
    • Educational Curriculum & Methods
    • Educational Psychology & Administration
    • Educational Technology & Library Science.
    • Management
    • Marketing
    • Psychology & Psychiatry

  • Career and Technical Education (ProQuest)

    Vocational information for both students and instructors in community colleges, two-year institutions, public libraries, and high schools offering technical courses. Vocational/technical topics include technology, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, photography, and nursing.

  • Corporate Affiliations

    This database provides corporate linkage information and company profiles on nearly 200,000 of the most prominent global public and private parent companies and their affiliates, subsidiaries and divisions—down to the seventh level of corporate linkage. Not only does Corporate Affiliations publish corporate family trees, the database also contains over 600,000 corporate contacts, 40,000 board members, 150,000 brand names and 100,000 competitors.

  • Corporate ResourceNet (EBSCO)

    Corporate ResourceNet is designed to meet the diverse information needs of today's companies. This database contains full text articles from more than 1,300 quality magazines and journals.

  • CQ Researcher Online (CQ Press)

    The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • EconLit (ProQuest)

    EconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application.

  • Economist Historical Archive (Gale)

    The Economist Historical Archive (EHA) , beginning in 1843, is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables. Altogether this is an unrivaled multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries.

  • Factiva

    Factiva provides general and business news and information. Useful for monitoring and tracking company and industry trends alongside business forecasts, as culled from over 10,000 resources. Daily newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal and New York Times can be read here.

  • Gale Directory Library (Gale)

    The Gale Directory Library hosts a variety of directory products that particular libraries can choose from. Use it to search, sort and export information both from current directory editions as well as prior editions that are maintained as searchable backfiles. Multiple directories can be cross-searched. Or users can mine individual directories for the particular kinds of data they contain, such as financial information for companies, circulation figures for publications, and much more.

  • General Business File ASAP (Gale)

    Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.

  • Health Business FullTEXT (EBSCO)

    Explore the business of health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management with Health Business FullTEXT.

  • Hoover’s Company Profiles (ProQuest)

    Business, Economics, Finance: reference

    Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.

  • Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO)

    Hospitality & Tourism Index is a bibliographic database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This comprehensive index combines the records of three renowned collections: Cornell University's former Hospitality database, Articles in Hospitality and Tourism (AHT), formerly co-produced by the Universities of Surrey and Oxford Brookes, UK, and the Lodging, Restaurant & Tourism Index (LRTI), formerly produced by Purdue University.

    Subject areas covered include demographics & statistics, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel, market trends, technology and more.

  • IBISWorld

    A comprehensive collection of industry market research reports.

  • IngentaConnect (Ingenta)

    IngentaConnect is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service. From the home page it is possible to search across more than 27,000 publications, including more than 5,400 electronic journals from more than 190 publishers. Researchers can access publications and articles as subscribers, or on a pay-per-view basis. Publications and articles are available in downloadable electronic format, or as fax or Ariel documents.

  • International Monetary Fund eLibrary

    Find in-depth, independent analysis on the financial crisis, development, macroeconomics, poverty reduction, trade, globalization, and much more.

    For the IMF eLibrary Data interface, please go to http://ulib.iupui.edu/cgi-bin/proxy.pl?url=http://elibrary-data.imf.org/.

  • Investext Investment Research

    Investext Investment Research contains research reports written by top analysts at over 1,000 leading investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms worldwide. Nearly 4,000 new reports are added each business day.

  • JSTOR

    JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • LexisNexis Academic

    LexisNexis Academic provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
    The 5,900 sources include:

    • National and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources
    • U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information
    • Shepard's® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789
    • Business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • MarketLine Advantage

    MarketLine offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country information, research and data extending over all major marketplaces and industries.

  • MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)

    Gain access to information on a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health and multi-cultural with MasterFILE Premier™. This vast database includes:

    • Searchable full text for over 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week.
    • Full text dating as far back as January 1990
    • abstracts and indexing for over 2,800 journals, many dating back to 1984.
    • Charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text
    • searchable full text for nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews.
    • Essential Documents in American History--a database of over 1,000 original historical documents including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
    • coverage of The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.

  • MediaMark Plus (MRI+)

    Published by the leading provider of magazine audience data to the advertising and marketing communities, this library of key magazine planning data resources provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from a national probability sample of 27,000 households.

    Click "Register for a FREE Account" and enter your IUPUI email address to create an account. You must use the campus email address ending in “@iupui.edu”. You will not be able to register using an email address ending in “@umail.iu.edu”. Do NOT use your campus password. If you have any questions regarding your IUPUI email addresses, please contact UITS at 317-274-4357.

    Restricted to authorized IUPUI users only.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Mergent WebReports

    Mergent WebReports provides digital access to Corporate and Municipal Mergent Manuals (formerly Moody’s). The reports themselves are in pdf format.  The WebReports are an excellent resource for researching corporate history, financial statements, and business activity. Users may search by company name, region, country, document type or year of report. Dates of coverage vary by sector, the earliest beginning with 1909.


    Corporate manuals include:

    • Transportation (1909 – present)
    • Public Utility (1914 – 2007)
    • Bank & Finance (1920 – present)
    • Industrial (1920 – present)
    • OTC Industrial (1970 – present)
    • International (1981 – present)
    • OTC Unlisted (1986 – present)


    Municipal Manuals: Issuers of municipal securities for the states, Puerto Rico, and Guam (1955-present)

  • Million Dollar Database (Dun & Bradstreet)

    The D&B Million Dollar Database features 14 million company records, including all U.S. businesses and the most significant segment of Canadian businesses. It provides comprehensive marketing information on both public and private companies and their executives. Profiles include specialty information like executive biographies and proprietary eight-digit SIC codes.

    The D&B Million Dollar Database helps you find new customers and grow your sales. Profile existing customers, find hidden sales opportunities, and generate direct marketing lists using over 30 search criteria. The Million Dollar Database offers you unlimited searching, viewing and printing of detailed, location-specific company profiles with contact information. A Corporate Family Linkage option lets you leverage existing relationships with customers and suppliers by linking corporate headquarters locations with their branches, divisions and subsidiaries.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Oxford Handbooks Online

    Handbooks from the prestigious Oxford Handbooks series are now available online as a collection in four subject modules – Business & Management, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline and unpacks it, explaining the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and setting the agenda for how those debates might evolve.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Prendismo Collection

    The Prendismo Collection includes over 15,000 2-minute video and audio clips from experts on topics of business, leadership and entrepreneurship. Viewing clips on an internet browser is free, but users must pay a charge if they choose to download a clip

  • ProQuest Entrepreneurship (ProQuest)

    Search worldwide publications and multi-media related to the topic of Entrepreneurship. Intended to bridge theory with practice, the Entrepreneurship database covers a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans, and tips from successful entrepreneurs

  • PsycTESTS

    Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycTESTS serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. International in scope, PsycTESTS® also provides access to an increasing number of tests that are available in languages other than English. PsycTESTS® is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.

  • RDS Business Reference Suite (Gale)

    Business Reference Suite, a Web-based subscription service, gives you balanced and highly focused full-text coverage of company and industry news, management practices, and market research information. By combining the complementary strengths of Business & Industry, Business & Management Practices and TableBase, Business Reference Suite delivers a comprehensive business research package.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • ReferenceUSA

    ReferenceUSA is a detailed listing of 10.5 million businesses with the ability to search by company name, type of business, geography, business size and more.

  • Regional Business News (EBSCO)

    Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 50 sources.

  • Small Business Resource Center (Gale)

    Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.

  • Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage

    On the Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Home Page you will find feature articles by Standard & Poor's analysts offering independent and unbiased opinion on the stock market, the economy and long and short-term prospects for equities, bonds, funds, and industries.

  • Ward’s Business Directory of US Private and Public Companies (Gale)

    • Identify market participants and study market share
    • Locate potential clients and create targeted mailing lists
    • Determine parent/subsidiary relationships
    • Analyze market position and find specific data on targeted companies