CAN'T CONNECT?

Databases by Subject : Art

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • AP Images

    AP Images provides a sensory journey of photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history.

  • Art Research Guide

  • Art Source

    Developed from a merger of databases from EBSCO and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.

  • ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest)

    ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

    ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

  • Arts: Search

    Arts: Search (formerly designinform) includes the following databases:

    • Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR)- a retrospective journal abstracting and indexing service
    • Design ProFILES (DP) - Biographical dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects
    • ReVIEW – Full-text - nineteenth and early twentieth century art journals

  • ARTstor

    ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. The Charter Collection provides students, faculty, curators, and staff with access to a large and expanding resource of digital images and data for teaching and research in art history, as well as - more broadly - in the humanities and other disciplines.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Bibliography of the History of Art

    The premier art database, Bibliography of the History of Art from the J. Paul Getty Trust and CNRS-INIST, covers the current international literature on the history of art in Europe and the New World. The database surveys the visual arts and material culture from late antiquity to the present. Included are both the fine arts (architecture, sculpture, painting, drawing and prints) and decorative and applied arts (popular art, folk art). BHA indexes and abstracts 1,400 journals, as well as books, conference proceedings, essays, exhibition catalogues, selected art dealers' catalogues, doctoral dissertations and microform publications. Abstracts are in either French or English and the thesaurus for data from 1990 is in both languages. BHA incorporates the complete contents of International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA) and Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie (RAA).

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Career and Technical Education (ProQuest)

    Vocational information for both students and instructors in community colleges, two-year institutions, public libraries, and high schools offering technical courses. Vocational/technical topics include technology, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, photography, and nursing.

  • Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO - OCLC)

    OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

    Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest)

    The Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making it the largest index of its kind in the world. Research articles are covered, along with topical news items, conference and seminar reports, and book, video and exhibition reviews. Each reference includes full bibliographic details and a brief abstract.

    Education Directory and Periodicals Directory should be searched separately in the native interface (click on arrow next to database name).

  • Grove Art Online

    Grove Art Online (now known as Oxford Art Online) provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Humanities Source

  • JSTOR

    JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Oxford Art Online

    Oxford Art Online (formerly known as Grove Art Online) provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Oxford Islamic Studies Online

    This resource features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Encompassing over 5,000 entries, Oxford Islamic Studies Online includes 13 related major Oxford reference sources.

  • Web of Science

    The Web of Science provides seamless access to the Science Citation Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research. Users can also navigate to electronic full-text journal articles.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial