CAN'T CONNECT?

Research

Databases by Subject : African American Studies

Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?

  • African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

    African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by or for African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before.

  • African Writers Series (Chadwyck-Healey)

    For over 40 years, Heinemann's African Writers Series has published the key texts of modern African literature. It has a unique importance in the history of postcolonial writing.

    Release Three of this electronic edition includes 147 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose, including works by Ama Ata Aidoo, Steve Biko, Buchi Emecheta, Nadine Gordimer, Bessie Head, Doris Lessing, Dambudzo Marechera, Christopher Okigbo, Okot p'Bitek and Tayeb Salih.

  • African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century

    Access is available only within the library on library owned Windows computers.

  • African-American Poetry (Chadwyck-Healey)

    The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.

  • Africana Studies Research Guide

  • Black Drama (2nd edition) (Alexander Street Press)

    Black Drama contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. James Vernon Hatch, the playwright, historian, and curator of the landmark Hatch-Billops Collection of black drama, is the project's editorial advisor. More than a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Black Short Fiction and Folklore (Alexander Street Press)

    Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora is the most comprehensive collection yet created of stories from Africa and the African Diaspora. When complete, it will offer more than 8,000 short stories and folktales, ranging thematically from oral traditions that date back many hundreds of years to contemporary tales of modern life. In addition to these works, the database includes complete runs of selected literary magazines, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon. Black Short Fiction and Folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora currently features over 6,400 short stories and more than 47,000 pages.

  • Black Thought & Culture (Alexander Street Press)

    When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Houston Baker, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others.

  • Black Women Writers (Alexander Street Press)

    Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents and 20 countries, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time. New content is uploaded on a biweekly basis, giving users immediate access to a steadily growing treasury of extraordinary writings. The database currently features over 14,000 pages of poetry and prose.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Database of African-American Poetry, 1760-190

    The Database of African-American Poetry, 1760-1900, includes the poems of such well-known figures as Paul Laurence Dunbar and Phillis Wheatley and the verse of many lesser-known poets whose works may only be found in anthologies or private libraries. Most of the poets in the database were not acknowledged during their lifetimes, but only granted recognition posthumously.
    Covering a wide range of topics from slavery and abolition to love and death, this collection provides a unique portrait of early America through the reflections of African-American poets during the 18th and 19th centuries. It contains a rich variety of poetic styles and types including elegies, odes, ditties, hymns, and sonnets.

    The bibliographic source for the Database of African-American Poetry is the invaluable Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975, by W. P. French et al.

  • Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 (Gale : Archives Unbound)

    Between the early 1920s and early 1980s, the Justice Department and its Federal Bureau of Investigation engaged in widespread investigation of those deemed politically suspect. Prominent among the targets of this sometimes coordinated, sometimes independent surveillance were aliens, members of various protest groups, Socialists, Communists, pacifists, militant labor unionists, ethnic or racial nationalists, and outspoken opponents of the policies of the incumbent presidents.

    Date Range: 1920-1984
    Content: 88,021 images
    Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library  

  • Gale U.S. History in Context (Gale)

    U.S. History in Context provides integrated access to more than 1,000 historical (primary) documents, more than 30,000 reference articles, and over 65 full-text journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes access to the citations for more than 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)

    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

    University Library's collection currently contains:

    • African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience, 2003
    • Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 2v, 2001
    • Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2nd ed., 5v, 2000
    • Environmental Encyclopedia, 3rd ed., 2v, 2003
    • Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook, 2v, 2003
    • Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, 3rd ed., 2011
    • International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family, 2nd ed., 4v, 2003
    • The Literature of War, 3v, 2012
    • New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., 15v, 2003
    • Twenty-First Century Drama, 2v, 2012

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Humanities Source

  • Indianapolis Star (1991-present) (ProQuest)

    Not available in Columbus.

  • IngentaConnect (Ingenta)

    IngentaConnect is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service. From the home page it is possible to search across more than 27,000 publications, including more than 5,400 electronic journals from more than 190 publishers. Researchers can access publications and articles as subscribers, or on a pay-per-view basis. Publications and articles are available in downloadable electronic format, or as fax or Ariel documents.

  • International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text (Chadwyck-Healey)

    IIBP Full Text includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • JSTOR

    JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines in the humanities and sciences. For more information about JSTOR, please refer to: http://www.jstor.org/

    Need Help? Try this tutorial

  • Liberation Movement in Africa and African America (Gale : Archives Unbound)

    Composed of FBI surveillance files on the activities of the African Liberation Support Committee and All African People’s Revolutionary Party; this collection provides two unique views on African American support for liberation struggles in Africa, the issue of Pan-Africanism, and the role of African independence movements as political leverage for domestic Black struggles.

  • NewsBank (Access World News)

    The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.

  • Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Panther Movement, The (Gale : Archives Unbound)

    The collection consists of materials from the years 1913 through 1998 that document African American author and activist Amiri Baraka and were gathered by Dr. Komozi Woodard in the course of his research. The extensive documentation includes poetry, organizational records, print publications, articles, plays, speeches, personal correspondence, oral histories, as well as some personal records. The materials cover Baraka’s involvement in the politics in Newark, N.J. and in Black Power movement organizations such as the Congress of African People, the National Black Conference movement, the Black Women’s United Front. Later materials document Baraka’s increasing involvement in Marxism.

  • Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive (Gale)

    Slavery and Anti-Slavery is a four-part collection devoted to the transatlantic history of slavery. It includes books, manuscripts, court records, and serials. The first part, Debates over Slavery and Abolition, documents the debates surrounding slavery and its abolition in the U.S. but also in the UK and other European countries, the Caribbean, Latin America, and Africa. Future parts are Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Institution of Slavery, and Age of Emancipation. Once completed, it will include over 5 million pages.

  • U.S. History in Context (Gale)

    U.S. History in Context provides integrated access to more than 1,000 historical (primary) documents, more than 30,000 reference articles, and over 65 full-text journals covering themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. The material also includes access to the citations for more than 180 additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

    This database has been made available through the Marion County Internet Library with support of the Library Fund of The Indianapolis Foundation. Access is restricted to Marion County residents only.

    Need Help? Try this tutorial