CAN'T CONNECT?
 

Article Databases

  • The Gale Directory Library hosts a variety of directory products that particular libraries can choose from. Use it to search, sort and export information both from current directory editions as well as prior editions that are maintained as searchable backfiles. Multiple directories can be cross-searched. Or users can mine individual directories for the particular kinds of data they contain, such as financial information for companies, circulation figures for publications, and much more.
    Includes:
    • Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
    • Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
    • Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State, and Local Organizations
    • National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations
    • National Faculty Directory
    • Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
    Subject Areas --> Business |
  • Need help using the Gale Virtual Reference Library? Try a tutorial:
    Guided Tour
    Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

    University Library's collection currently contains:
    • African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience, 2003
    • Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 2v, 2001
    • Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2nd ed., 5v, 2000
    • Environmental Encyclopedia, 3rd ed., 2v, 2003
    • Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook, 2v, 2003
    • International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family, 2nd ed., 4v, 2003
    • New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., 15v, 2003
  • GenderWatch™ provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. Combining more than 200 academic, gray, and popular literature titles, GenderWatch provides researchers with more than 100,000 articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
    Subject Areas --> Women's Studies | Social Work |
  • Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.
    Subject Areas --> Tourism Management | Business |
  • Indexing and abstracting of material of at least one column in length in key popular science magazines and professional journals, including The New York Times Science Times section; useful for both the nonspecialist and the expert.

    Wilson General Science Abstracts provides easy access to a broad range of scientific and related disciplines. The database supplies comprehensive abstracting and indexing over 190 popular and professional science journals published in the United States and Great Britain.
  • GEOGRAPHY, from Elsevier Science Ltd., is the only comprehensive database containing both bibliographic references and extensive abstracts to information in the field of geography. GEOGRAPHY provides international coverage of 2,000 primary journals, books, monographs, reports and theses. Topics covered include physical and human geography and international development issues.
  • Subject Areas --> Geography |
  • Subject Areas --> Geology and Earth Sciences |
  • GeoRef is a comprehensive database in the geosciences and grows by more than 70,000 references a year. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, and US Canadian theses in the geosciences.
  • The GeoRef In Process database contains records that are, literally, in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database. The majority of the records originate from non-English language literature that was not necessarily published recently.
    Subject Areas --> Geography |
  • A project of The IUPUI University Library Ruth Lilly Special Collections and Archives
    Subject Areas --> Languages & Literature : German |
  • Subject Areas --> Languages & Literature : German |
  • Subject Areas --> Geography |
  • Global Books In Print is the industry's leading international bibliographic database offering more than 8 million English-language titles from the U.S., U.K., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa. PLUS access to annotations, tables of contents, cover images, awards and full-text reviews. WITH market filter to focus searches on specific countries with over 40 search criteria and inventory availability from over 20 top vendors in the U.S., Canada, U.K., and Australia. AND a complete Publisher Authority Database, Enhanced Hooks to Holdings and Links to OCLC WorldCat to search local and worldwide library catalogs. All of these features are available through the globalbooksinprint.com native interface. Searching through MetaLib will produce bibliographic elements and access to annotations, awards and the complete Publisher Authority Database.
  • Global Market Information Database, formerly Market Research Monitor, is an online database offering over 2,200 top line research reports on international consumer, industrial and service markets.
    Subject Areas --> Business : Marketing |
  • This database consists primarily of the Weimar Edition of Goethe's works, originally published between 1887-1919 by Hermann Böhlau (and Nachfolger) under the patronage of Grossherzogin Sophie von Sachsen and hence often referred to as the Sophien-Ausgabe. It is supplemented by material not found in the Weimar Edition, namely Goethes Gespräche, edited by Woldemar Freiherr von Biedermann (Leipzig, 1889-1896) and all the letters discovered since the completion of the Weimar Edition: Goethes Werke, Nachträge zur Weimarer Ausgabe, edited by Paul Raabe (dtv, München, 1990).
    Subject Areas --> Languages & Literature : German |
  • The full text of the Weimar Edition of Goethe's Works

    The complete corpus of Goethe's written work is a source of unique importance for students of German literature, language and history.
    Subject Areas --> Languages & Literature : German |
  • Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.
    Subject Areas --> Nursing |
  • Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
  • Subject Areas --> Government Resources |
  • GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. This resource offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
    Subject Areas --> Environmental Science |
  • Grove Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art with quarterly additions of new material and updates to the text, plus extensive image links and all the sophisticated search advantages possible with an online reference source.
    Subject Areas --> Classics | Art |
  • Grove Music Online offers a dynamic research tool combining the full text of the 29-volume print edition with the added benefit of sophisticated search capabilities, one-click cross-referencing, and an ever increasing network of web-links to musical sites around the world.
    Subject Areas --> Music |
  • GuideStar is the leader in providing comprehensive data on more than 1.5 million nonprofit organizations, connecting them with donors, foundations, businesses, and governing agencies in a nationwide community of giving.
    Subject Areas --> Philanthropic Studies |