Marott Building photograph, ca. 1920
Built in 1913, this building served as the home of the Independent Turnverein, which became the Hoosier Athletic Club in the early 1920s. The athletic club encountered financial difficulties during the 1920s, and the building was eventually sold to Indianapolis businessman George Marott in 1943. The building (renamed the Marott Building) served as home for classes offered by Purdue and Indiana Universities and IUPUI. In 1983 the building was converted into the Turnverein Apartments.
Access Aids:University Photographs, Ruth Lilly Special Collections and Archives, University Library, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis.
|HOME | EXHIBIT | EXPLORE | EXAMINE | ABOUT | OTHER | SEARCH|
Updated: 29 April 2004, RKB
Copyright © 1998-2004 - The Trustees of Indiana University
Ruth Lilly Special Collections and Archives |
IUPUI University Library
755 W. Michigan St.
Indianapolis, IN 46202