Databases by Subject : Languages & Literature : French
Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Can't Connect?
-
Only the free resources available through this site are accessible.
At present the project consists of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Recently added: a Provençal database that includes 38 texts in their original spellings. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. In most cases standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into machine-readable form, and the data contain page references to these editions. -
L'Année philologique contains 375,000 bibliographic records for the years 1969 to 2001, with 12,500 new records added each year. Its international offices analyze 1,500 periodicals each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Publication information for articles is accompanied by a brief abstract and all the records are classified in a two-parts system: Ancient authors and texts, Subjects and disciplines.
-
The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language.
-
Provides citations for articles on language, linguistics, literature, and folklore.
