Databases by Subject : General Interest
Most Databases require IUPUI Network ID and password for off-campus access. Connection Trouble?
-
Guide to print and online resources for quick look up of facts, figures, and information, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and writing style guides.
-
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.
-
Need help using Academic Search Premier? Try a tutorial: This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis.
-
ACCESSIBLE ONLY IN UNIVERSITY LIBRARY. Provides citation searching in the fields of art, literature, history.
-
Contains information for approximately 455,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. For some 2,600 major U.S. national associations, provides full-text association materials such as brochures, pamphlets, and membership application forms
-
Literature and reference books on the web.
-
Including over 11,000 quotations, the first new edition of John Bartlett's corpus to be published after his death in 1905 keeps most of his original work intact.
-
Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
-
Book Review Digest provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of current adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction. Over 7,000 English-language books are covered by the database each year. Concise, critical evaluations are chosen from 109 leading American, British and Canadian periodicals in the humanities, social and general sciences, as well as library review media. Covering a wide range of review media and offering an enormous variety of reviews -- all carefully excerpted to convey the diversity of critical opinion on a title -- Book Review Digest is the most convenient way for patrons to obtain information on prominent new books.
-
A virtual library representing college catalogs in full cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional and international schools.
-
Credo Reference (formerly xreferplus) offers access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
-
The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields.
-
Dissertations written at any CIC institution from 1996 - present.
-
Doctoral dissertations and master's theses are a vital fund of scholarship for any discipline. The massive body of work available through ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) represents the most comprehensive source of academic research in the world.
-
Discover over 20,000 full-text books in multiple academic and general interest subject areas, sheet music titles and reports.
For help on using this and other ebook services view our tutorial. -
A powerful business research tool that provides critical information when it is most needed. Users have instant access to over 35,000 full text articles from Emerald's international management portfolio, complete with full text archives back to 1994. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.
-
Since the Encyclopaedia Britannica's founding in 1768, Britannica editors have gathered and organized information on thousands of topics for easy retrieval.
-
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
-
Features over 25,000 informative segments of the encyclopedia.
-
Need help using the Gale Virtual Reference Library? Try a tutorial:
Guided Tour
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
University Library's collection currently contains:- African-American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience, 2003
- Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 2v, 2001
- Encyclopedia of Sociology, 2nd ed., 5v, 2000
- Environmental Encyclopedia, 3rd ed., 2v, 2003
- Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook, 2v, 2003
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family, 2nd ed., 4v, 2003
- New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed., 15v, 2003
-
Global Books In Print is the industry's leading international bibliographic database offering more than 8 million English-language titles from the U.S., U.K., Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa. PLUS access to annotations, tables of contents, cover images, awards and full-text reviews. WITH market filter to focus searches on specific countries with over 40 search criteria and inventory availability from over 20 top vendors in the U.S., Canada, U.K., and Australia. AND a complete Publisher Authority Database, Enhanced Hooks to Holdings and Links to OCLC WorldCat to search local and worldwide library catalogs. All of these features are available through the globalbooksinprint.com native interface. Searching through MetaLib will produce bibliographic elements and access to annotations, awards and the complete Publisher Authority Database.
-
Deep backfile for The New York Times (1851-2003).
-
Humanities Abstracts Full Text contains abstracting and indexing coverage for all 500 periodicals included in Humanities Index as well as the full text of over 160 periodicals, offering instant access to information from publications such as: American Journalism Review; American Poetry Review; Art Journal; Asian Folklore Studies; Canadian Journal of History; Central European History; Contemporary Review; Dance Magazine; Film Criticism; Journal of Popular Culture; Opera News; Perspectives of New Music; Scandinavian Studies; World Literature Today. Subjects: Archeology; Art; Communications; Drama; Film; Folklore; History; Humanities; Language; Literature; Music; Philosophy; Photography; Religion.
-
INCat is the Indiana state catalog. INCat users have access to 8.1 million records and 24.5 million titles in Indiana libraries. INCat users may search the entire catalog. Or, INCat users may search subviews -- a particular geographic region of Indiana or a particular library type.
See http://www.indianacatalog.net/incatabout.html for more information. -
Full-text coverage of major Indiana newspapers including the South Bend Tribune, and the Evansville Courier, plus selected coverage of other regional sources and indexing for the Indianapolis News and Star.
-
The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
-
IngentaConnect is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service. From the home page it is possible to search across more than 27,000 publications, including more than 5,400 electronic journals from more than 190 publishers. Researchers can access publications and articles as subscribers, or on a pay-per-view basis. Publications and articles are available in downloadable electronic format, or as fax or Ariel documents.
-
Need help using IUCAT? Try a tutorial:Keyword searchAuthor searchJournal title searchJournal holdings: how to read a record
IUCAT contains records for more than 5 million items held by the Indiana University Libraries statewide. -
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
-
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
-
This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, American Visions, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers + Colleges, Civil War Times Illustrated, CQ Weekly, Discover, Economist, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 88,000 biographies and 60,000 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra (School Edition) contains more than 540 pamphlets, nearly 150 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac + Book of Facts), an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps + flags, color PDF and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
-
Gain access to information on a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health and multi-cultural with MasterFILE Premier™. This vast database includes:
- Searchable full text for over 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week.
- Full text dating as far back as January 1990
- abstracts and indexing for over 2,800 journals, many dating back to 1984.
- Charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text
- searchable full text for nearly 5,000 Magill's Book Reviews.
- Essential Documents in American History--a database of over 1,000 original historical documents including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
- coverage of The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.
-
The A Matter of Fact database contains statements reflecting current public policy issues. The database does not display raw numbers in tables and charts; rather it presents the data selected by writers and speakers to influence others, and presents the statistically supported arguments in their own words. Approximately 25 percent of the excerpts are derived from congressional hearings, another 15 percent from the Congressional Record, and the remaining excerpts from both general interest and specialized periodicals, newsletters, and newspapers.
-
The McClatchy-Tribune Collection includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune wire service. The data is updated daily.
-
-
This site provides access to your library's eBook collection. When you enter the site from an affiliated library, you will see the name of your library in the box on the right side of the screen. Once you have accessed your library's affiliated site, you are able to search and view the full text of all the eBooks in your library's eBook collection.
-
The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
-
This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.
-
The O*NET system serves as the nation's primary source of occupational information, providing comprehensive information on key attributes and characteristics of workers and occupations.
-
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale Group and Macmillan Reference USA sources, including selections from Bioethics for Students. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center will also provide full-text magazines and newspapers, plus exclusive electronic access to selections from the Information Plus reference line.The result is a dynamic online library of current event topics- the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors.
-
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
-
Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
-
Search journals published by Oxford University Press.
-
Currently, Periodicals Archive Online contains over 400 journals, providing access to over 7.8 million article pages - representing over 1.2 million articles.
-
Periodicals Index Online is the new name for Periodicals Contents Index - a database of millions of article citations published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
-
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Subjects Covered
Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel -
-
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences.
-
Need help using Student Resource Center - Gold? Try a tutorial:
Guided tour
Fully integrated to support information needs across the curriculum, Student Resource Center Gold contains award-winning content based on actual assignments and national curriculum standards. Students and educators will find thousands of biographies, criticisms, topical and overview essays, photographs and illustrations, hard-to-find primary source documents, and hours of audio and video files. Further, Student Resource Center Gold provides full-text coverage from more than 1,250 magazines and newspapers that are updated daily. -
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 78,000 articles from more than 3,000 diverse sources, including nearly 1,450 full text periodicals
-
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory is an important tool for reference, research, and serials management. This database provides information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world, plus thousands of newpapers.
This database allows users to retrieve, manipulate, and scrutinise citations from myriad perspectives, including 970 subject categories, ISSN, subscription rates, publisher name, title, editor, electronic availability and more. Updated quarterly, the database also provides contact information for over 80,000 publishers from over 200 countries worldwide. With over 250,000 records, Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory is ideal for anyone requiring detailed information on journals, magazines and other serial publications. -
Need help using WorldCat? Try a tutorial: OCLC WorldCat database is the OCLC online catalog. It contains over 43 million records describing library holdings.
